page one of the 1st Bb Clarinet part from Concertino for Clarinet Op.26

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Weber's Clarinet Concertino, written in 1811 for Heinrich Barmann, has been in the Grade 8 Clarinet repertoire of the British Associated Board Syllabus for as long as I can remember. In making this arrangement for Solo Clarinet & Wind Ensemble, I have moved away from the old 'military band arrangement' ideas and tried to capture the feel of Weber's original orchestration. To this end the ensemble parts are designed for one player per part. In other words, not groups of 1st, 2nd & 3rd Clarinets etc. etc. I have also kept to the original 'open' horn and trumpet sounds, the only difference being to replace the 2nd Horn part with a Trombone to give the brass section of the ensemble a more rounded sound. For lightness, I have scored the bass part for String Bass but an alternative Tuba part is available in the absence of a String Bass.

8 minutes
Classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Cover art for 1st Bb Clarinet part from Concertino for Clarinet Op.26