Trombone part from Concertino for Clarinet Op.26

8 minutes
Classical music

Weber's Clarinet Concertino, written in 1811 for Heinrich Barmann, has been in the Grade 8 Clarinet repertoire of the British Associated Board Syllabus for as long as I can remember. In making this arrangement for Solo Clarinet & Wind Ensemble, I have moved away from the old 'military band arrangement' ideas and tried to capture the feel of Weber's original orchestration. To this end the ensemble parts are designed for one player per part. In other words, not groups of 1st, 2nd & 3rd Clarinets etc. etc. I have also kept to the original 'open' horn and trumpet sounds, the only difference being to replace the 2nd Horn part with a Trombone to give the brass section of the ensemble a more rounded sound. For lightness, I have scored the bass part for String Bass but an alternative Tuba part is available in the absence of a String Bass.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Cathy Parker. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Cathy Parker has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.