2nd Bb Clarinet part from Choral : 'Jesu, Joy of Man's Desiring'

J S Bach arr Rodney Parker
3 minutes
Classical music

'Jesu, Joy of Man's Desiring' is No6 of The Dorset Woodwind Ensemble Series. Full details can be found on No1 of the Series on this site - Prelude from 'Te Deum'. This well known work of Bach's can be played with the standard instrumentation for the Series but I have added optional Soprano Sax and Baritone Sax parts in place of 1st Alto Sax and Bassoon/Cello to give the chorale sections more of a 'choir' feel. Use them if available. The Keyboard part would sound more authentic with a 'harpsichord' stop if available and I have set this on the mixer playback. You could substitute a 4 part Choir for the Sax parts singing in whatever language you wish - there are plenty of translations available around the world!

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Cathy Parker. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Cathy Parker has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.