1st Soprano (and Sopranino) Saxophone part from Seven Glass Eyes and the Submarine (for Saxophone Ensemble)

5 minutes
Modern classical music

An adaptation of my Sonata for Tenor Saxophone and Piano, this arrangement (which I think I prefer to the original) was made for the Equinox Saxophone Ensemble (www.equinoxsax.org.uk).

The soloist requires much gusto and a fast tongue! Very enjoyable but feriousness is a must.

The Solo Tenor part is the same, and unlike the Sonata which could be played on the soprano, here it is non-transferable. There are, however some options for those without Sopranino or Contrabass/Tubax Saxophones! The Sopranino and 1st Soprano parts on the score are covered in one part, though there is an optional 1st Soprano part to cover both on the soprano. Likewise, the Bass Saxophone part is an optional replacement for the Tubax/Contrabass Saxophone part.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by James Crockford. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com James Crockford has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.