Violin part from Adagio from String Symphony No. 8

Felix Mendelssohn
Full details...
page one of the Violin part from Adagio from String Symphony No. 8

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Prior to the age of 14, the extraordinary young Felix Mendelssohn wrote a collection of 12 "sinfonias" for string orchestra. Once he grew into an adult, he considered them amateurish works and never published them, and they weren't discovered until the 1970's. But I find them all very beautiful. For this Adagio movement he excluded the violins, and used three viola sections plus cello and bass, a fifth lower than I present it here. This is a rather dark work, sinister yet hauntingly beautiful. The "parts" are violin only; please use the Score for your harp music.

Felix Mendelssohn
4 minutes
Classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.