Bass part from Choral Classics - Tallis, Thomas - Magnificat & Nunc Dimittis ( The Dorian Service) - arranged for Parish Choir & String Quartet by Gerald Manning

Thomas Tallis
5 minutes
Classical music

THOMAS TALLIS (C.1505-1585)


Arranged for Parish Choir and String Quartet by Gerald Manning.

Thomas Tallis and William Byrd were close friends and Gentlemen of the Chapel Royal under Henry VIII, Edward VI, Mary and Elizabeth and shared the post of organist of the chapel conjointly. In 1575 they were granted letters patent for the exclusive privilege of printing music and ruled paper for 21 years. Although Tallis was brought up in the Roman Catholic tradition he was among the first composers to compose anthems and set canticles in English for the new Protestant liturgy, which included the Dorian Service, and his anthem �If ye love me� (also available in MANNING SCHOOL EDITIONS) have remained in the cathedral repertory and kept his name alive. In 1910 Vaughan Williams based his �Fantasia on a Theme by Thomas Tallis� on the strongly modal �Third Tune�. He died in 1585 and is buried in the parish church of St Alphege in Greenwich.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Gerald Manning. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Gerald Manning has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.