Oboe part from Pilgrim's March from the Italian Symphony

4 minutes
Classical music

An arrangement written Sept 2001 for Epsom Children's Orchestra (ages 7-14 and mostely grade 2-5 standard). I was delighted to find that the main theme (bars 1-34) from the second movement of Mendelssohn's Italian symphony could be played by ECO almost as written by Mendelssohn. The only changes I have made are: (a) the addition of simple flute and cello parts, (b) shorter phrase marks for the strings, (c) option of trumpet and clarinet joining in for the last 4 bars. From bar 39 onwards, instead of modulating to A-major for the second subject etc, this arrangement stays in D-minor and just repeats the main theme a couple of times with different intstrumentations, but I have added some new counterpoint for the brass section (bars 59-67). The main aim is to give all players something interesting to do and the chance to play a great tune. Even the percussionists get to join in through the addition of a timpani part from bar 59 onwards. Similarly, there is an alto sax part (kept as discreet as possible - just doubling the melody in places) for no better reason than there is currently a player in the orchestra. Key viola passages are cued in the first violin for occasions when there are no viola players at rehearsals. Mendelssohn's ending (given here as bars 78-95) works well if spliced on after bar 74, but as this is probably a bit too ambitious, I have put in an alternative coda as bars 75-77. The percussionists were getting bored so I have added glockenspiel and triangle parts (not included here in main score but available as parts).

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Tom Wright. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Tom Wright has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.