Soprano part from Reliquary of Sacred Music - Franck, C. - Ave Maria - arr. for Soprano & String Quartet arr. by Gerald Manning

Franck, C.
4 minutes
Classical music
Other parts

CESAR FRANCK (1822-1890)


Belgian-born French Composer Cesar Franck a modest man who had the wonderful gift of extemporization entered the Paris Conservatoire in1837 where his teachers were Leborne for composition and Zimmermann for Piano. He was just fifteen years old at that time and had his first brush with the then director Cherubini when he disregarded the strict rules at his first piano examination. He gave a startling account of the set pieces but when it came to the sight-reading test the young student without the slightest error or hesitation transposed the entire test-piece a third lower. Cherubini was furious and refused to award the first prize to Franck, however he was obviously impressed as he awarded him a special �Grand Prix d�Honneur.� Cesar Franck composed his Ave Maria in 1863 for soprano, tenor and bass, and since then it has been arranged for a wide variety of Choral and Instrumental ensembles.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Gerald Manning. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Gerald Manning has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.