Soprano part from Reliquary of Sacred Music - Elgar, Edward - Ave Verum Corpus, Op. 1 No.2 - arr. for Soprano & String Quartet by Gerald Manning

Edward Elgar
2 minutes
Classical music
Other parts

AVE VERUM CORPUS, Op. 1, No. 2 Latin text: 14th century Music: Edward Elgar (1857-1934)

The church played an important part in Edward Elgar�s musical development. As his father was organist at St George�s Church in Worcester, Elgar composed a number of religious works for performance at St George's. In 1885 he succeeded his father to the post of organist there, which him a regular platform for such compositions. In 1887 he composed a charming trio of works; Pie Jesu, Ave Maria and Ave Maris Stella in memory of William Allen, Worcester attorney for whom Elgar worked as a fifteen-year old. Giving them the opus number 2, these works held a lasting appeal for Elgar and some twenty years later he orchestrated them for publication in 1902.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Gerald Manning. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Gerald Manning has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.