Picc D from Pomp & Circumstance (No2) for brass ensemble

Edward Elgar
6 minutes
Classical music

The Pomp & Circumstance Marches (five in all) are strongly associated with the Proms season in London�s Albert Hall, however, the first of the marches was dedicated to the Liverpool Orchestral Society in the earliest part of the 20th century. The generic title of these marches is taken from Shakespeare�s Othello, "Farewell the neighing steed, and the shrill trump, The spirit-stirring drum, the ear-piercing fife, The royal banner, and all quality, Pride, pomp, and circumstance of glorious war!". This arrangement for small brass group was done some time ago when the Liberty Quintet was augmented by a few friends for a special evening in a small church in Bristol. Rather than leaving it gathering dust, never to be played again, I thought I would dig it out for Elgar�s 150th. Many happy returns!

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This part was submitted by Geoff Colmer. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Geoff Colmer has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.