Bass part from The Other Leg

4 minutes

An arrangement of my composition "One leg's both the same as the other" for the orginal trio (piano, bass, drums) plus two trumpets, alto sax, clarinet and flute. I found Roger Freundlich's comments in his review of "One leg…" helpful in making this arrangement. It is still basically an 8-bar blues in 5/4 time, but I have added a riff-based interlude (25 bars starting at H) between the main solos and restatement of the theme. I have kept the lengthy introduction (at A) before the main theme because it sets the scene rythmically and harmonically, gives us something simple to do at the first rehearsal, and makes an effective reprise at N (after the interlude). I intend to try this with the jazz group of Epsom Children's Orchestra but will probably have to make some simplifications, in particular to the latter parts of the interlude (letters L and M). NOTE ON TEMPO: I would recommend cranking it up a bit using the control at the top of the window. The MM of 144 is all I can realistically expect from my young players but faster would definitely be better.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Tom Wright. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Tom Wright has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.