Violoncello part from Reliquary of Sacred Music - Bain, James Leith Macbeth.- Brother James' Air - arr. for High Voice & String Quartet by Gerald Manning

James Leith Macbeth Bain
2 minutes
Classical music
Other parts

There are several musical settings of Psalm 23, the best known of which are Crimond and Brother James' Air (Marosa). Most of these, and both those named, are based on the translation in the Scottish Psalter of 1650. There is also a setting in the original Hebrew included in Leonard Bernstein's Chichester Psalms of 1965. And needless to say John Rutter has had a go as well. Crimond, composed around 1870 by Jessie Seymour Irvine (1836-1887), is named after a town in Scotland, where Irvine was a daughter of a local dignitary. The tune first appeared in 'The Northern Psalter' where it was credited to David Grant; later, it was learned that Grant had only arranged the tune. Brother James is the name by which James Leith Macbeth Bain, composer of the second tune, is remembered. He is also a member of the Barefoot League, and his writings in praise of barefoot hiking were included in the 1914 Vintage Book of Walking .

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Gerald Manning. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.