Flute part from Autumn Embers (Flute & Guitar)

3 minutes
Modern classical music
Other parts

Autumn Embers was originally for guitar, although it was certainly not an easy piece in this layout. It has been more successful in versions for oboe & orchestra, and oboe and piano.

Guitarist, Alison Smith, for whom the piece was originally written, has now formed a flute & guitar duo with Ruth Ballantyne, and Alison suggested I write an arrangement for this medium.

Alison was able to give me invaluable help in making the guitar part more accessible, especially as the ’tune’ is now mainly taken over by the flute. Whilst the guitar part is still in the ’more difficuly’ category, the flute part certainly would also suit someone of intermediate ability, but who is still capable of producing a nice, warm tone, for this essentially melodic piece.

Alison & Ruth plan to include this in next year’s Tavistock Festival, here in Devon.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Philip R Buttall. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Philip R Buttall has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.