Violin 1 part from Lullaby

Johannes Brahms
1 minute
Classical music
Other parts

In 1865 Brahms composed his Op. 39 set of waltzes, making dual versions of all 16, the first for piano, four hands, and the second for solo piano. Later he transcribed Nos. 1, 2, 8, 11, and 14 for two pianos. There are two main differences between the first two versions of the Waltz in A major: the solo piano version is in the key of A flat major and is, not surprisingly, simpler and more texturally transparent. To casual listeners though, the differences in sound between the pair would be negligible. Structurally, too, the pair are identical, and the solo version might better be described as a transcription via reduction of the original.

The Waltz begins with a serene, somewhat mesmerizing theme that manages to exude both Viennese elegance and child-like simplicity. The melody yields a second subject of sorts: here, the theme is developed somewhat and given a fuller, more stately character, with the main line moving largely into the upper register. The exposition material is repeated and then the main theme is heard a final time, wherein its music becomes even lighter and more childlike, the writing again rising higher on the keyboard, now to impart a gently playful, rather innocent character.

This arrangement comes with a supplemental third violin part, and an optional bass part for use with string orchestra.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Glynn Davies. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Glynn Davies has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.