English Horn part from Carmen Suite, Mvt. 3

Georges Bizet
2 minutes
Classical music

A double reed transcription of the Intermezzo from Carmen Suit No. 1. This was one of the most difficult pieces I’ve ever tried to transcribe, but I didn’t want to leave it out of the suite. Trying to mimic the harp with a double reed ensemble was difficult, but I decided to split it among many parts so notes could ring a little instead of giving the part to just one player. Also, I was very tempted to change the key because of the horrible range, but no matter which way I went, it only created more problems than it solved. As such, a very simple and beautiful piece has become quite difficult to play. Still, with a lot of breath control and skill, it works rather nicely.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Erik Cole. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Erik Cole has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.