Trumpet 2 & 3 part from Symphonic Prelude: Jan Tregeagle

5 minutes
Modern classical music

The programme of Jan Tregeagle follows the Cornish legend of the same name, which to this day remains one of the most intriguing stories connected with the county. In this symphonic prelude, we open with a scene of Bodmin Moor a little before dawn, shafts of light piercing the early morning fog which hangs threateningly over Dozmary Pool. As day slowly begins to break, a lonely figure emerges from the mist, that of Jan Tregeagle. His sorrow and seclusion are represented in the oboe solo, marked lamentoso. From the mysterious opening material, a threatening undercurrent sets up (bar 14) and unearthly creatures begin to gather. A chase across the moor soon begins (bar 22). After a while, Jan finds safety from the demons (Larghetto, bar 49) and finds time to reflect on his deeds on earth, and is soon absorbed by the beauty of the land around him (bar 64). However, Jan is no reformed character, and soon his thoughts turn to escaping his punishment. As the demons gather once more, Jan begins to run towards the sound of the church bells at Roche Rock (bar 81). In his haste, Jan crashes through the east window of the church, and head becomes stuck inside, with his spirit shoulders unable to pass into the holy building. In the story, Jan is taken away to Gwenvor Cove near Land's End (or in some versions, to Padstow) to undertake a series of menial tasks, all of which he tries to cheat at. The anxiety in the music from the piu mosso (bar 95) is representative of his endless irritation at his tasks. It is said that Jan Tregeagle's cries can still be heard to this day, and the piece closes with a cry of anguish and frustration.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Iain McKnight. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Iain McKnight has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.