Flute part from Aeolian Celebration

3 minutes

Aeolian Celebration is a piece written for a beginning band. It is the second in my series of music intended to present music of substance to younger bands. It should be playable by a band at the end of the first year’s instruction or shortly afterwards.

In keeping with the effort to provide challenging but playable music for younger musicians, the parts are more independent than usual in a piece of this grade level. There is little of the typical block scoring. All instruments have their turn at the melodic material.

While some sections are above grade level, these are short and should be viewed as teaching opportunities.

The piece is in D minor and 3/4. It is rather catchy and I think young band members will like it.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Richard Smith. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Richard Smith has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.