Violoncello part from Trio Sonata by Reinhard Keiser

Reinhard Keiser
7 minutes
Classical music
Other parts

Reinhard Keiser (1674-1739) was based in Hamburg, Germany, where he was well-known as a composer of opera. This previously unpublished Trio Sonata for flute, violin and continuo in four movements possibly dates from around 1718 when Keiser left Hamburg to seek other employment, going to Thuringia and then Stuttgart (The Hamburg Opera being by this time defunct). The source material consisted of a poorly transcribed copy made presumably from the original manuscript in the 1970s, and this only gave the two upper parts and the bass line with occasional bass figuration. To this score I have realised a continuo part, amended certain obvious inaccuracies in the individual parts, and added dynamic and performance directions where appropriate. If anyone should have any criticism of my edition, or any further information on this, or any similar works by Keiser I would be happy to hear from you.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Alex Tinlin. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Alex Tinlin has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.