Cello 1 part from Serenade in C for String Orchestra, Pezzo in forma di Sonatina, Op 48, Tchaikovsky

Pyotr Il'yich Tchaikovsky
11 minutes
Classical music
Other parts

This is one of my favorite pieces and I wanted to see if I could bring it to life in four parts for Cello Choir and still maintain its wonderful character. These four movements are the result. The paraphrased blurp below about the original was taken from a web page by Geoff Kuenning (www.lasr.cs.ucla.edu/geoff/prognotes/tchaikovsky/stringSerenade.html � 2000, Geoff Kuenning )

Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky, 1840-1893. Serenade in C Major for String Orchestra, Op.48. Completed November, 1880, first performance October 30, 1881, in St.Petersburg. Scored for string orchestra. A note in the score admonishes: "The larger the string orchestra, the better will the composer's desires be fulfilled.'' Completing it despite persistent headaches, he wrote to his publisher that he had "unexpectedly'' composed a serenade, and added, "Whether because it is my latest child or because in reality it is not bad, I am terribly in love with this serenade, and can scarcely wait to have it presented to the world.'' The premiere was a great success, however, with the audience demanding a repetition of the Waltz.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Hampton Carmine. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Hampton Carmine has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.