Viola part from Widor - Charles-Marie - Toccata from Symphony No. 5 for the Organ arranged for String Quartet by Gerald Manning

page one of the Viola part from Widor - Charles-Marie - Toccata from Symphony No. 5 for the Organ arranged for String Quartet by Gerald Manning
This music has been transposed from the original key.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Widor, Charles-Marie (b Lyons, 21 Feb.1844; d Paris, 12 March 1937). Toccata from Symphony No. 5 for the Organ

Widor�s father was an organ builder and church organist in Lyons, and gave Charles-Marie his first lessons in music. He continued his organ lessons with Lemmens and also studied composition with Fetis in Brussels. In 1870 he was appointed organist of St Sulpice in Paris retaining his position there until 1934, and in 1890 he succeeded Cesar Frank as professor of organ at the Paris Conservatoire. At the core of his teaching and performing were the works of J. S. Bach, and Louis Vvierne, Charles Tournemire, and later Albert Schweitzer numbered amongst his most distinguished pupils. On his appointment to a composition professorship in 1896 his tutelage included a diverse range of students, among them Marcel Dupre, Nadia Boulanger, Milhaud, and Varese; at this time he also revealed himself as a man of letters when he wrote an excellent treatise on the art of orchestration.

Although he composed copious amounts of music in all forms and genre, including three operas and three orchestral symphonies, he is best known, however, for the ten symphonies for solo organ which were composed between 1872-1900 for the new �romantic� instrument built by Caville-Coll. In these works Widor integrates the austerely liturgical idiom of Bach, to the more secular models of Beethoven, Mendelssohn, Schumann, and Liszt, in a visionary and boldly emphatic orchestral scale. The logically satisfying finale of No.5 is the now famous showpiece �Toccata�.

Widor - C-M.
6 minutes
Classical music
Other parts

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Cover art for Viola part from Widor - Charles-Marie - Toccata from Symphony No. 5 for the Organ arranged for String Quartet by Gerald Manning