Violin II part from Concerto Grosso no.1

8 minutes
Classical music

Concerto Grosso no.1 was one of my first compositions intended for public performance. It was first played by the Viola d'amore Society of Great Britain soon after it was composed in 1993 (hence the inclusion of a viola d'amore in the Concertino lineup), and remained in their repertoire for years to come. Although the influence of the Baroque multiple concerto (particularly J.S. Bach's Brandenburg Concertos and the multiple concerti of Vivaldi) is undeniable, the composition of this work coincided with my becoming familiar with the works of more modern composers such as Hindemith and Stravinsky - the ballet scores for Pulcinella and Apollon Musagette being particular favourites of mine. The influence of these neo-classical works has, I hope, made my Concerto Grosso more than a work of mere pastiche. If a viola d�amore is not available (they are quite hard to come by these days!) then a standard viola may be used in the solo quartet, for which �ossia� sections have been provided.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Alex Tinlin. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Alex Tinlin has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.