Tenor part from Reliquary of Sacred Music - Sullivan, A. - Refrain Thy Voice From Weeping from The Light of the World - arranged for Tenor & String Quartet by Gerald Manning

Sir Arthur Sullivan
3 minutes
Classical music
Other parts


An oratorio by Sir Arthur Sullivan composed in 1873 Text selected from the Bible by the composer.

The tenor Air �Refrain thy voice from weeping� comes from the first part of Sullivan�s longest oratorio �The Light of the World� which is set in Bethlehem on the eve of the birth of our Lord, which is foretold by a prologue chorus �There shall come forth a rod�. The work begins with a short orchestral introduction notable for rising octaves as in the In Memoriam Overture, which received its first performance at the Norwich Festival, on 30th October 1866. In 1869 Sullivan composed the first of his three oratorio�s �The Prodigal Son�, which was first performed at the Three Choirs Festival in Worcester on the 8th September of that year, and the final oratorio in the triptych �The Golden Legend�, which is also known as a cantata, was composed in 1886.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Gerald Manning. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.