Violin II part from Sinfonia Concertante - attrib. Domenico Caudioso (arr. Alex Tinlin)

9 minutes
Classical music

Little is known about the Italian composer Domenico Caudioso, and after extensive research I had believed that the G Major concerto is his only surviving work. The Sinfonia Concertante is more spurious work which I have reconstructed from various incomplete manuscripts that were bundled together with the Concerto in G major. The source material consisted of little more than sketches which showed the two solo instruments and basso continuo, from which I (exercising a certain amount of creative licence) elaborated on, and added what I hope to be an interesting and appropriate string orchestra accompaniment. Yet, from the overall style of what little material I had to work with, I realised that this was either a much later work than the Concerto in G, or indeed, not by Caudioso at all. Nevertheless, it is an extremely attractive work, and the unusual combination of recorder and mandolin a curious and, I hope valuable addition to the relatively meagre classical mandolin repertoire.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Alex Tinlin. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Alex Tinlin has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.