Violin II part from The Mighty God

3 minutes
Modern classical music

Finding the right words can be an interesting and challenging process.

Ultimately, I decided to make it The Gospel in a nut shell, with a slight emphasis on Christian experience. First line, "Jesus died for me. . . ." Last line, "Jesus died for you. . . ." As a teacher of the Word of God, I kept a close eye on things to make sure they were doctrinally correct. The chorus is largely based on the book of Isaiah. (See Isaiah 66:1.)

Despite the overwhelming nature of the chorus, non staccato notes are to be strictly adhered to by the string players. I have in mind a boy soprano for the solo part. The cadenza is ad lib., what I have inserted is just a reminder to the soloist that at this place in the score I would like to see a cadenza. Dynamic’s are also subject to change depending on the size of the choir, and/or string section.

As a final note.

Is JESUS The Mighty God? I could leave you with a string of Scripture verses but sufficient is to quote John (I John 5:20).

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Robert James Thoms. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Robert James Thoms has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.