tenor sax part from anbar:electricity

7 minutes
Modern classical music

In Philip Pullman�s epic His Dark Materials trilogy the heroine, a girl called Lyra, is born in a universe parallel to ours. In her early years she lives in Jordan College, Oxford before being taken to live in London by Mrs Coulter. This piece aims to portray this parallel, pseudo-industrial London, which is a strange mix of the Dickensian and the post-atomic. Technology has not developed in Lyra�s world as it has in our own and the grand, futuristic buildings of the Magisterium are juxtaposed with zeppelins and Victorian streets.

In Lyra�s world the word for electricity is anbar from which this quartet takes its title. The initial letters of the title (a and e) are the tonal centres of the piece (at concert pitch) and, rather like Lyra and her d�mon, the harmony frequently deviates from these persistently returning due to some unseen and unexplained attraction.

The quartet is in two distinct sections (slow � fast) although the main themes are similar in each. The opening motif hints at the main theme of the fast section (figure E, alto sax) and is more explicitly heard again in the baritone sax at H. The counter subject of this fast section (tenor sax, G) forms an idea for a quasi-fugal exposition at B. A brief recap of each section brings the piece to a close at just under seven and a half minutes in length.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Owen Elton. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Owen Elton has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.