Bass recorder 2 part from Romance sans Paroles

Louis James Alfred Lef�bure-W�ly
3 minutes
Classical music

The French composer Louis James Alfred Lef�bure-W�ly (1817-1869) was organist at the Parisian churches of Saint-Roch, the �glise de la Madeleine, and, from 1863, Saint-Sulpice. He has been described as the Lloyd Webber of nineteenth century France, on account of the lighthearted nature of much of his music.

The tenor recorder is in the spotlight in this arrangement. The other parts (especially the basses) have many fewer notes, but this doesn’t necessarily mean that they have to be boring to play. Much skill is required to provide a sympathetic and well-timed accompaniment to the soloist. The individual quavers on the beats should be placed gently avoiding a staccato effect.

I have rewritten the tenor’s final flourish (the ad lib. in bar 85) to suit the instrument, but the original can be seen in the part.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Chris May. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Chris May has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.