Alto Saxophone part from the splendour of the moon...

5 minutes
Modern classical music
Other parts

…by the splendour of the moon… was composed at the request of my friend, flugel and cornetist Gareth Lancaster for his final Masters recital in the winter of 2007, and is dedicated to the memory of fellow musician Vicki Porter, who was tragically killed in a road accident in June 2001. The piece takes its name from an emotive poem, �Defeated by Love�, by the thirteenth century Persian poet and philosopher Rūmī, and draws influence from the idea of the moon�s light, and its power, which Rūmī cites in his poem as a bond between this world and the next. I have tried to illustrate the idea of moonlight in the overall structure of the piece, which is in a �mirror form�; the second half is a reflection of the first, though, like the reflection of the moon in water, is somewhat distorted. The music is for the most part atonal, the main exception being at the very centre of the piece, where there is a quote from Debussy�s Clair de Lune which literally signifies �the light of the moon�. My intention is to allow a degree of flexibility to the performers, and therefore the music permits a great deal of freedom in its execution, though care should be taken where the duet lines are in accord with each other. For the most part standard notation is used, though in the opening and closing statements in the Flugel, I have used crosshead notes to indicate notes which should played without the valve fully depressed (though slightly more than �half valve�, to give an indication of pitch) and also dashed lines between notes, representing a slow valve change, quasi glissando. I hope these effects are a positive addition the musical style of the piece.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Iain McKnight. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Iain McKnight has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.