Oboe part from Sonata for Oboe and Piano

15 minutes
Modern classical music

This Oboe Sonata was originally written in 1991 and was extensively revised in 2008. The three movements of the piece explore various aspects of minimalism. Although otherwise conventional forms are employed, none of the three movements has in sonata form structure.

The first movement, Allegro, is in ternary form, the outer sections being based on short developing phrases in the oboe and repeating chords in the piano. The central section also uses short developing phrases in the oboe, but the piano has a two bar phrase that initially contains only one chord, but each repetition adds a chord or note and eventually these chords/notes are eliminated one by one.

The second movement is an Adagio and is fundamentally a theme (initially played solo by the oboe) and a set of five variations.

The last movement, like the first, is an Allegro, and is also in ternary form. The outer sections are based on developing very simple 2, 3 and 4 note repeating phrases with sudden two-note outbursts. The first section ends in four-note phrases played cantabile in the oboe, leading into the central section that develops short melodic phrases. This section is essentially in arch form (A-B-C-B-A) although all subsections are based on the same material. The final section returns to the repeating phrases as well as combining some of the elements of the central section.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Malcolm Dedman. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Malcolm Dedman has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.