Oboe 1 part from Brahms' Seventh Symphony II Adagio

Johannes Brahms
5 minutes
Classical music

This orchestration of the 2nd Brahms string quintet was created in 2000, revised 2003 and 2007. In 1938 Schoenberg orchestrated the G minor piano quintet and called it Brahms'5th. I have also orchestrated the earlier F major quintet, so the G major becomes the 7th symphony. Like the Haydn Variations, first written for piano, orchestration allows for a fuller and tonally more diverse realization, and I believe this is true for this one. I trust you will agree. The Adagio has some interesting contrasts between strings, winds and brass.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This part was submitted by Keith MacGaffey. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Keith MacGaffey has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.