Violin part from Typhus (counter-tenor, guitar, violin & cello) [1997]

6 minutes
World music
Other parts

Typhus, written in 1997, for counter-tenor, guitar, violin and cello), shortlisted by the spnm (see It uses or imitates various elements of Indian music, most notably its texture of a characteristic melody line and the sounds of the accompanying percussion. The introduction (the Alaap) outlines the scale and the main melodic motifs (Pakarh), slowly exploring each note and interval. The scale itself is not Indian, but has been treated according to basic rules of raga playing. Gradually from these elements a melody is pieced together. Some types of embellishment have been used (eg: Tan - very fast tremelo or trill effects). The words sung to the melody line in the upper voice are the names of each note: Sa Re Ga Ma Pa Da Ni Sa = Do Re Mi Fa So La Ti Do

Each instrument comes in one by one, adding individual slants to the texture, before the accompanimental figures begin to imitate, and have the role of the tabla (the versatile Pakistani drum), slowly making a ten-beat rhythmic cycle (or Tala) become more distinct and audible. Dha Dhin Too Na etc are the vocalised tabla sounds (bols), sung in the bass voice, imitated also in the instrumental parts. Typhus follows the common practice of getting faster - many ragas have three sections, each faster than the previous one (Alaap, Barakhayal & Chotakhayal). Characteristic techniques such as Tehai have been used - where a short rhythmic (or both rhythmic and melodic) phrase of an odd length is repeated three times, creating syncopation, and lands back on the beat. The roles of melody, accompanimental harmony/secondary melody, and rhythmic tabla sounds are moved around each of the instruments. The melody becomes increasingly decorated, more and more colourful and complex, the whole increasing in speed, with added clarity of the ten-beat cycle and snowballing rhythmical impetus, ultimately rising to a feverish intensity recognisable to anyone who has caught the Pakistani midday sun.

Parts are avilable direct from the composer.

This is also available in a new arrangement for clarinet, piano, violin and cello, available from SibeliusMusic.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by John Pitts INTENSELY PLEASANT MUSIC. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to John Pitts INTENSELY PLEASANT MUSIC has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.