Organ Accompaniment part from Requiem for Saxophone Choir and Organ - I - Introit and Kyrie

Gabriel Faure
4 minutes
Classical music

The saxophone is often closely compared to the human voice, and here one of the choral world’s most beautiful and harrowing works is brought into the realm of the saxophone choir.

The original work had various re-configurations and is usually now performed on a smaller orchestral/choral scale. Whilst this arrangement can be performed with just 6 saxophones (SATTBB) and organ, it would really benefit from a truer choral sonority, but doubling parts and adding the optional Sopranino and Bass parts (which merely carry the Soprano and lower Baritone lines at 8va and 8vb respectively). These variations will of course depend on your particular ensemble and venue.

This is the opening movement and whilst not the best known by itself, it was this that originally drew me into Faure’s marvelous Requiem. The proceeding movements will be available soon, as will a version for two saxophone choirs.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by James Crockford. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to James Crockford has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.