Horn part from Debussy - Girl with the Flaxen Hair

Claude Debussy
2 minutes
Classical music
Other parts

Claude Debussy (1862-1918) wrote his two books of piano Preludes late in life, between 1909 and 1913. The 12 short pieces in each book display a rich variety of styles, moods and emotions � almost a summing up of his compositional output � and each has its own evocative title given by Debussy after the music was completed. In the true meaning of the word �impressionistic� the pieces are intended to fire the imagination of the listener to produce their own images and are not based on pre-existing poems or pictures.

The Girl with the Flaxen Hair is the 8th Prelude in the 1st book and is popular for its emotional depth, despite its technical and harmonic simplicity. We do not know who �The Girl� was, but this beautiful miniature conjures up vivid images in the mind�s eye.

I hope you enjoy this arrangement for brass quintet.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Mark Preece. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Mark Preece has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.