Soprano Saxophone part from Sonata Movement (Scherzo from FAE Sonata) for Solo EWI/Soprano Saxophone with Saxophone Ensemble

Johannes Brahms
5 minutes
Classical music

Brahms’ contribution of one movement to a Sonata collaboration also involving Schumann and Dietrich, is a wonderfully exciting and rich work, so typical of Brahms.

The saxophone ensemble is a dynamic and vibrant ensemble, with a full body of sound which this piece makes great use of. Originally for violin/viola and piano, this rescoring can be used for Solo Electronic Wind Instrument, or Solo Soprano Saxophone, along with a multitude of saxophones.

This should provide a taste of dexterity and adventure for any ensemble’s repertoire.

There are options to buy Soprano and Baritone parts for the Sopranino and Bass Saxophone lines.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by James Crockford. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to James Crockford has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.