Violin part from Nine Icons

3 minutes
Modern classical music
Other parts

These are nine very short pieces for flute, violin, cello and keyboard/piano and are well within the scope of an amateur ensemble. The shortest piece is 12 seconds and the longest is 32 seconds. They can represent the computer icons, a tiny picture that is the gateway to a complex piece of software, or the icons of the early Christian church, again a small picture that represents something so much greater.

Each piece is different, some being purely textural (nos. 1, 6 and 7); some for keyboard alone (nos. 2 and 8); some without keyboard (nos. 4 and 6); whilst the others are more expressive (nos. 3, 5 and 9).

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Malcolm Dedman. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Malcolm Dedman has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.