Alto Sax 1 part from Tango

3 minutes
World music and Latin music

’Tango’ was written with a group of students in mind who had already formed themselves into a group which gave a rhythm section and some solo instruments. It is not such a difficult piece and was always intended to be fairly accessible from a technical point of view. The tango rhythms are prominent in the percussion and drum kit parts.

The bones of the piece are contained in the 1st alto sax and piano parts, and it can be performed with just those two instruments (or alternatively with sax, guitar and bass). However, the second sax and complete rhythm section make a nice addition. The percussion and drum kit parts can be used together or as alternatives. The second alto sax part is available transcribed for tenor sax.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Mike Halliday. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Mike Halliday has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.