Piccolo part from La Tarantelle de Belphegor (CB)

Roch Albert
4 minutes
Classical music

Louis Antoine Jullien [Roch Albert] (1812-1860) was born in Sisteron, France, and was baptised Louis George Maurice Adolphe Roche Albert Abel Antonio Alexandre No� Jean Lucien Daniel Eug�ne Joseph-le-brun Joseph-Bar�me Thomas Thomas Thomas-Thomas Pierre Arbon Pierre-Maurel Barth�lemi Artus Alphonse Bertrand Dieudonn� Emanuel Josu� Vincent Luc Michel Jules-de-la-plane Jules-Bazin Julio C�sar Jullien (his thirty-six Christian names having been bestowed by members of the Sisteron Philharmonic), and studied at the Paris Conservatoire. He penned La Tarantelle de Belphegor under the name Roch Albert. position in the school, and after conducting the band of the Jardin Turc he was compelled to leave Paris to escape his creditors, and came to London, where he formed a good orchestra and established promenade concerts. Subsequently he travelled to Scotland, Ireland and America with his orchestra. For many years he was a familiar figure in the world of popular music in England, and his portly form with its gorgeous waistcoats occurs very often in the early volumes of the magazine Punch. He brought out an opera, Pietro il grande, at Covent Garden in 1852 on a scale of magnificence that ruined him, for the piece was a complete failure, despite the presence of Enrico Tamberlik in the title-role. He was in America until 1854, when he returned to London for a short time; ultimately he went back to Paris, where, in 1859, he was arrested for debt and put into prison. He died in an asylum at Neuilly-sur-Seine, but was still remembered in London twenty years after his death: he was described as "Jullien, the eminent musico" in W. S. Gilbert�s’s libretto for Patience in 1882.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by George Pollen. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com George Pollen has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.