Oboe 1 part from The Six Seasons of Kakadu

8 minutes

This composition won Franklin and Marshall College’s wind Ensemble Composition Contest in 2001. Kakadu, Australia?s ancient wilderness, comprises 8,000 square miles of the Northern Territory and boasts the longest continuous surviving human cultures in the world. Aborigines have been living in this region for at least 40,000 years. The region also contains abundant wild life. It is a land of varied extremes that creates a constant cycle of destruction and renewal. The composition is loosely programmatic. It does not depict the six seasons sequentially nor does it depict the six seasons with specific thematic material. The composition does attempt to capture both the primitiveness and beauty of this ancient wilderness and the cycles of its seasons, each with its own uniqueness and its challenge for the sustaining of life.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Sy Brandon. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Sy Brandon has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.