Home > Orchestra + solo > Andante op 120 no 1 > Solo clarinet part

Solo clarinet from Andante op 120 no 1

Brahms, Johannes
5 minutes
Classical music

This is the concerto movement that Brahms never wrote (but perhaps should have done!) and was arranged with a pupil in mind. Although she could take on something more challenging, I had to bear in mind what the school orchestra could reasonably manage. To maintain the integrity of the original clarinet part, the strings have ended up playing in a slightly tricky key, however, the steady tempo should make it manageable. A flautist is needed as well as strings; I would recommend no more than 4 of each of the upper strings and two cellos and a bass. A violin 3 part is available as an alternative to the viola (sadly missing in some schools).

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This part was submitted by Mike Halliday. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Mike Halliday has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.