Cello part from Symphony in Miniature - 1st Movement - for chamber orchestra (or nonet)

3 minutes
Modern classical music

This is the First Movement from a four movement work entitled 'Symphony in Miniature' because that's what it is. Miniature, in that it is scored for a chamber orchestra of Oboe, Clarinet, Bassoon, Horn in F and Strings. Although conceived for orchestra it works well also a Nonet, with one player per string part. It was in this format that the work received its premiere in Austria in 2001. Miniature also in the length of movements - the whole four movement work lasts just under 12 minutes. The work is designed to be accessible - that is, it is unashamedly melodic and expressive. The score and parts for each movement are available separately.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Andrew Moore. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Andrew Moore has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.