Tuba part from Symmetries (brass quintet)

7 minutes
Modern classical music

Written for and first performed by the 'Brass Routes' brass quintet at Blewbury Parish Church in 2003, including myself on trombone, this piece is in three movements, each of which illustrates an aspect of symmetry.

1) Fanfare - Reflections

This opening movement makes extensive use of reflections both in pitch and time. The middle section is intended to be a humorous contest of machismo between the pair of trumpets and the pair of horn and trombone. This is interrupted by the tuba, impatient at the childish behaviour of the other members… In one place an alternative reading is supplied, which may be adopted if it is preferred to the original.

2) Fugue - Rotations

Not a fugue in the strictest sense, merely a pair of expositions that illustrate some aspects of rotational symmetry in a pitch sense.

3) Barbaric dance - Asymmetry

Although metrically complex on the note-to-note level, the simple ternary form illustrates the principle that there are usually guiding structures behind the most apparently disordered of objects.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This part was submitted by Dave Taylor. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Dave Taylor has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.