Trumpet 2 part from Prelude and Fugue in A minor, BWV 894 (brass quintet)

J.S. Bach
9 minutes
Classical music
Other parts

Originally written for keyboard by the young Bach in 1708 (BWV 894), he returned to this work in later life, in 1730, to rework it as the first and last movements of a triple concerto for Flute, Violin and Harpsichord (BWV 1044). Although evidently a work of his younger years, this piece bristles along with an energy and verve which mark it out from other works that surround it chronologically. The fugue is one of the proverbially "rollicking" fugues a la gigue, in a lively 12/16 throughout. The writing keeps all parts interested, and much care should be paid to the dovetailing effects between different instruments.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This part was submitted by Dave Taylor. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this part to Dave Taylor has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.