Guitar Notation part from Estudio No 4 - Arpeggio Study - Tarrega - Classical Guitar with TAB

Francisco Tarrega
2 minutes
Classical music
Other parts

This lovely Tarrega study is about grade 6 level. Like a great deal of classical guitar music it is usually played these days as though the performer is trying desperately not to miss the last bus home. I have marked it 86bpm (slower than usual), but it would benefit from being even slower than that!

People often tend to forget Tarrega was pioneering a style of playing that was strong on tone production rather than virtuosic speed, due to the use of apoyando fingerstrokes. This is itself will slow you down!

I have taken the liberty of refingering some of those third string Es as open strings. It breaks the arpeggio pattern in an interesting way but also gives the arpeggios a sparkle that is missing in the pure positional style of playing I learned as a young guitarist.

TAB only and Notation only versions are also available.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Lisa Marie Gabriel. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Lisa Marie Gabriel has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.