Trombones I & II part from Missa in Honorem Episcopi Challoneri (English Words) ORCHESTRATED VERSION

4 minutes
Modern classical music

This work was composed for the Mass to celebrate the dedication of the new buildings of Bishop Challoner Catholic Collegiate School by the Archbishop of Westminster on 22nd January 2010. The performance was given by the school choir of some hundred students, the school orchestra and a congregation of about 500 people at St Mary’s and St Michael’s Church, Commercial Road, East London. The conductor was Antonia Mott.

This simple Mass setting is suitable for both school and parish use. It features some responsorial writing and includes optional divisions (harmonies) for the choir. The orchestral arrangement is intended for a school/amateur orchestra – hence the specific nature of the scoring and the degree of doubling.

Please note that the Gloria is playing back at the correct speed, but the other movements are playing back too fast, except the Benedictus, which is too slow! Please adjust the tempo to hear the Kyrie, Sanctus and Agnus at more relaxes speeds and the Benedictus at the same speed at the Sanctus.

The Vocal Score with organ accompaniment is also available on this site.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Christopher Maxim. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Christopher Maxim has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.