Horn in F part from MANNING, G. Wind Quintet No.1,Op.36 in E Flat Major for Flute, Oboe, Clarinet, Bassoon and Horn

Gerald Manning
20 minutes
Classical music

WIND QUINTET NO. 1 in E Flat Major, Op.36, for Flute, Oboe, Clarinet in B flat, Bassoon and Horn. Gerald Manning

Favoured in the court of Joseph II in late 18th century Vienna a wood-wind ensemble consisting of two oboes, two clarinets, two horns and two bassoons was arguably the influence along with Haydn's chamber music writing which gave rise to the modern wind quintet. What established the genre however were Anton Reicha's 24 quintets begun in 1811, and the 9 quintets of Franz Danzi which are still in the repertoire of most Wind Quintets' of today. In the later half of the 19th century, the form diminished in stature but was revived by leading composers in the 20th century, and is valued for its versatility and variety of tone color, thus establishing the wind quintet as a standard chamber music ensemble.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Gerald Manning. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Gerald Manning has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.