Trbn. 3 part from Suite from The Emperor’s New Clothes (No. 5)

4 minutes
Classical music

These dances come from a full length ballet ’The Emperor’s New Clothes’ written in 1979 for the Oakville School of Dance, Ontario, Canada. The score was written for amateur players. After the four Cloth Merchants have shown the Emperor their material samples and he has decided that none of them were good enough for him - the Swindlers show him their sample of the ’cloth that only the wise will see’ but which, in fact, no one could see because there wasn’t any! He accepts it - he doesn’t want everyone to think he is a fool - and gives them a promise of a large amount of money on the completion of a suit splendid enough for an Emperor. The Swindlers then celebrate their success in this dance that makes fun of the other cloth merchants and indeed the Emperor himself! There are 22 pages to this score.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Tony Royse. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Tony Royse has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.