Violoncello part from Plutinos

8 minutes
Classical music
Other parts

Plutinos are a form of Kuiper belt object (the Kuiper belt is the are of the solar system beyond the planet Neptune), named after their most famous member: Pluto.

The piece was inspired by a diagram of Kuiper belt objects in an Open University science course, showing the arrangement of the three major kinds of object: Plutinos, ’Classical’ objects and ’Scattered Disc’ objects. This diagram gives the piece its form and governs the style of the three major sections. Plutinos starting from rehearsal letter A, Classical at C and Scattered Disc Objects at D. There is a gap between the Plutinos and the Classical objects (B-C) and the Classical and Scattered Disc object overlap. The musical timeline does not follow a timeline exactly proportional to the X axis of the figure.

Nearly all of the material in the piece is generated from a graph comparing the construction of various types of planetary material with carbonaceous chondrites, which are believed to be the type of material from which all of the solar system is made. The other source is the atomic weights of the materials that make up the carbonaceous chondrites: this, in its raw form, produces the first 19 bars of D, and is expanded upon from C.

Although written using a system, I have freely re-interpreted quite a lot of the generated material for my own compositional purposes.

The piece should be approachable by amateurs - with a little practice - though I’m not sure about the piano part.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Christine Caulfield. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Christine Caulfield has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.