6 minutes
Modern classical music
Other parts

Program Notes String Quartet No. 1 in 2 movements "At the Immaculate Beehive" was written as part of a docket of compositions for my doctoral graduation concerts at the College-Conservatory of Music, University of Cincinnati, Ohio in 1982 a year before my actual graduation. It was based on the dodecaphonic (12-tone) principle of composition. On completion, however, I realized that all the tensions in the piece have been necessarily, a reflection of the particular rows that I had selected and could not be altered, if I were to remain faithful to the docecaphonic principle. In 1998, I decided to revise this work but this time abandoning the rigid 12-tone system in preference for pure atonality. This way I could intervene to obtain particular selected tensions that would make the overall tonal atmosphere more directly under my control. Care has therefore been taken to ensure that controlled dissonances occur between parts. In the first movement, the dissonant motions in sound have been given form by the application of contrapuntal devices. Some of the devices used here include moments of quasi-harmonic whispers in tremolo, impressions of sequential projections with the opposite polarity of illusive aleatorism. In the second, an introductory largo prepares and concludes the main body of activity. Moments of dynamic rhythmic interplay provide interest and contrast to the essentially contrapuntal atmosphere. This counterpoint is further enhanced as certain cellular motives assume the function of invariance and are uttered by the various voices in turn. Multiple stops in the form of juxtaposed quartal, quintal and secondal sonorities add bite to the overall dissonance. Drama is created as sequential projections exploit the upper registers of the strings tessitura, with periodic bursts of repeated 3-note uttereances. The title of the piece was decided after the piece had been started. The alternating repeated 16th notes, seconds, sevenths and other leaps apart, suggested the sounds that bees make as they go about their honey making activities and particularly during moments when they have to defend their territories when disturbed. The first movement therefore reflects the quieter moments when most of the bees bundle together concentrating on the honey making process. A few bees remain floating around creating aleatoric impressions. In the second, the bees gradually wake up to a new day, and undergo the various predictable and unpredictable events that the day brings. The climax moment reflects the times that the bees get agitated to the point where their killer instincts have to be invoked. I trust that this piece is as immaculate as the beehive with its golden honey. This revised score was premiered on the 5th of May 2000 during a concert by Vancouver New Music, in collaboration with the University of British Columbia, Vancouver, in honor of Prof. Akin Euba of the University of Pittsburgh and I. My Timpani Concertino "Ancient Perspective-3" was also premiered during this concert Dr. E. Gyimah Labi Seattle, WA USA January 2010.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This part was submitted by E. Gyimah Labi. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this part to E. Gyimah Labi has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.