violin solo part from FAURE - STARR; Papillon (Butterfly), Opus 77; reduction for violin and piano (of arrangement for violin and string orchestra; final movement of Faure-Starr Suite Concertante)

Gabriel Faure
2 minutes
Classical music

This is my reduction for violin and piano of my arrangement of Fauré's Papillon (Butterfly) for violin solo and string orchestra. The orchestral arrangement is the final movement of the five movement Faure-Starr Suite concertante for violin solo and string orchestra. Faure composed this piece for cello and piano. I have somewhat adapted the cello part in arranging the violin part. There are two ossias, lowering the solo part down an octave, to facilitate execution (for young violinists.) This is a virtuoso showpiece, especially suited for encores on a violin-piano recital. My reduction includes a detached part for violin (the price of which is part of the reduction.) The rehearsal letters match those in the orchestral score, so this reduction can be used to prepare violinists for performances of the orchestral arrangement.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Mark Starr. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Mark Starr has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.