Guitar part from Aria from Suite Nr 3 in D major by J.-S. BACH

4 minutes
Classical music
Other parts

J.-S. BACH referred to his set [the Four Orchestral Suites] as « Ouverturen », which strictly applies only to the first movements, « Suite » or « Partie » (Partita) was then usually applied to similar works for individual instruments. The 1rst and 2nd Suites are from the Cöthen period; the 3rd and 4th are from the Leipzig period (dated 1729-1736). This score is an arrangement of the « Aria » from the 3rd Orchestral Suite previously composed for strings. The violin I and Bass parts are unchanged (though the violin part is now played by the Flute); the Guitar part has been composed closely according to Bach's harmony, but is not existing in the original score.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by François Piguet. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to François Piguet has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.