Flutes part from Tambourin (two flutes/piano)

F. Gossec
2 minutes
Modern classical music

This is an arrangement of a well-known flute showpiece. The problem with the original version is that the last eight bars are extremely hard to play at a fast tempo (unless your name is a Mr. J. Galway!), since they are repeated semiquavers (16th notes). Furthermore, slowing the whole thing down so that the fast notes are more easily playable spoils the character of beginning!

Therefore I have created this arrangement, which is a slightly simplified version. In addition to the changed last eight bars, I have replaced the original demisemiquavers (32nd notes) in the middle of the piece by using repeated semiquavers. Also, in this version, I have added a second flute part.

Apologies to Mr. Gossec (hope he's not turning in his grave, bless 'im) but I have used this arrangement with several intermediate students and it makes it possible for them to perform a great piece at a lively tempo without breaking down at the end!

I found a great site about Mr. Gossec if anyone is interested: http://members.klosterneuburg.net/handerle/GOSSEC.HTM

I will be submitting this piece FREE for a limited time only.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Jon Raybould. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Jon Raybould has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.